A Real-World Follow-up

You might have seen yesterday’s success story from Ian on completing the Money Rundown.    Well, here is a follow-up report I just received from him today, showing a real-world result!

Hi Randy,

Hey so good news that I wanted to share with you: I booked another industry job right after session last night on my first (independent) feature film, and signed the start paperwork today.

tracking shot-stage

Though a low rate, it’s more than they were initially offering as I was able to negotiate up and get really specific in my deal memo for how / when payment to be made by, guaranteed number of days, and minimum flat rate for under 8 hours. I’m also now learning that the production hadn’t even originally budgeted for my position, but the producers were so impressed with my work they freed up some funds to make it happen! Now I’m able to really begin building credits, a portfolio of work, and accumulate some serious days towards union entry.

And I noticed as I’d discuss what I wanted and was worth that I wasn’t even nervous as it’s just business; if it didn’t work out, I’d just move onto the next opportunity which I can easily create – even when they aren’t posting for it. I felt so confident moving forward, and it is cool to see results that very same day in the real world, now I know it’s not all subjective or cliches and platitudes that some success stories can feel like. Anyway just thought you’d like to hear of some more success manifesting itself in the world outside of the auditing room.

All the Best,

Ian

Thanks again!

One thought on “A Real-World Follow-up

Leave a Reply

